Wednesday, December 31

Color blindness

I set about painting my son's room today. We knew, when we moved in, that the room was orange. We also knew that it would be painted. The following conversation took place, between and and my husband, following the application of the first coat of primer.

Me: *phew* holy... that room is going to need a few coats of primer before I can paint it
J: well DUH it's bright freaking yellow
Me: *blink* um..honey..it's orange

Tuesday, December 16

Hi, my name is...

There is a woman that I met in September. Her youngest goes to the same preschool as Z and her oldest goes to the same Elementary school as K and S. So, basically, we talk every day. There was a catch though. I didn't know her name. For those of you who know me well, it's very likely that she told me her name and I didn't hear it. Or...she told me her name and I forgot it as soon as she said it. I wasn't worried about my own embarrassment, because, seriously it takes more than that to embarrass me (if I ever figure out what embarrasses me, I'll let you know). I didn't want to hurt her feelings, by not remembering her name. So, yesterday I give her this piece of paper with my contact info, address, phone number, email addy, etc...as we'd already discussed getting together on numerous occasions. Today I'm talking to her and she mentions that she needed to get a bag of salt for when she finished shoveling her driveway. I'm like "dude, I totally have an extra bag...just take it!". So she follows me home and I give her the bag of salt. Finally, in a moment of bravery, I say "I have to ask. I didn't want to hurt your feelings by not remembering and I don't even know if you ever told me, but...what is your name?"...she said "C...do you wanna hear something funny? I didn't know YOUR name until you handed me the piece of paper yesterday"

...I'm still laughing

Thursday, November 20

Oh my...I had no idea!

As most of you know, we live in northeastern Kansas. Also home to Westboro Baptist Church and it's band of loonies. On one of my MANY excursions today, I drove past the nearby high school. The Phelps' were out there picketing at lunch time, across from the football field. I noticed they had a new sign. It said "NameOfSchool Sins" and had two stick figures, one bending over and one standing behind it a fair distance with it's hands on the hips of the stick figure in front. I wish I was making this up and I was trying SO hard not to laugh...not because of what it was obviously trying to show, but because anyone not familiar with the Westboro Baptist Church and the band of loonies would think "when did football become a sin?!"



....well, I thought it was funny

Friday, October 3

Oh really?!

We've been looking at houses. Because as much as I love my parents, I want my own house again. We're already pre-approved up to an insane amount and a friend of ours in Utah is handling the paperwork and all of that stuff. Basically he's our Realtor, he's just in Utah, but licensed in all 50 states. We've been looking at homes online and so far have looked at four houses. We've just been contacting the Realtor and saying "hey we'd like to take a look at this house, when would be a good time to meet you?". When we meet them, they ask "so do you have a Realtor?". And we just tell them what I said above about our friend. Usually, that's the end of it. Today, I get a call from one of the Realtor's we had this conversation with yesterday. I repeat the spiel and she says, I shit you not

Realtor: How are you going to look at more homes? Your Buyer's Agent is the one who should be booking your showings and letting you inside. I understand the local market and can guide you to a great home much more efficiently than anyone that lives outside of Topeka. Why not have your Agent contact me and for a flat fee I'll show you all the houses you want.

Those of you who know me well, know that I was completely unable to let that pass by. Yes...I opened my big mouth. It probably didn't help that I've had a rather trying week..what I'm trying to say is...I was maybe a tad bit bitchy.

Me: How am I going to look at other homes? Probably the same way that I have been and no offense but YOU and all of the other Realtor's that have been contacted by us have had no problems what so ever showing us homes. We've seen every home that we've asked to see. So I REALLY don't see how hiring you would be more beneficial than what we're doing. I can see how it would be beneficial to YOU because you would get paid money and quite frankly, I'm just not interested. I will tell you that you've pretty much assured that I won't be looking at any other home that you're the selling agent for. So again, Thanks by no thanks, bye.

*big eye roll* can you tell they're hard up for money? J and I were responsible home buyers the first time around. We paid our payments on time and went in for the fixed rate instead of an arm loan. The selling side of our Realtor experience from when we sold our home in Utah (we sold because J was transferred, not because we were in danger of going into default on our home loan) has left a bad taste in our mouths as far as Realtor's go, so no...we're not interested in hiring a buyers agent here in Kansas. morons.

Friday, September 26

Crap, this is ALL they're going to do...

OK, I survived my first NASCAR race. We went about 12:30pm and left early..I think there were like maybe six guys left to go around the track during the qualifying race. All I knew was that we'd all had enough. You can only watch cars race around in a circle for so long. And, I swear I have never been subjected to so much drunk boobage in all of my life! and seriously?! Is there like a law that says you have to have big ol' honkin' bazoo's to attend a NASCAR race?! And of COURSE the drunk boobage was in love with my kids, so they kept ooooohing and aaaaaaaaahing over them *rolls eyes* and slurring in my left ear, in which I'm um almost completely deaf in, some jibber jabber that I didn't hear. I just smiled and nodded and silently said "shoo go 'way now". K did well until she got her shorts wet and then the obsessing began (can we say "sensory issues"?). I think S and Z had fun, even if they thought it was still too loud even with their earplugs in. I'm legally deaf, so I didn't even bother with mine.